Invoice - Prompt Payment / Settlement Discount
To apply a prompt payment discount/settlement discount to an Accounts Receivable invoice from the match items screen in the Bank Reconciliation.
Purpose: So users can offer early discounts to vendors/suppliers without needing to do manual credit notes or editing the invoices.

-
Peter Humphrey commented
This channel has become my daily source of laughter! Don't get me wrong, I, too, desperately want this feature. Buy after YEARS of XERO response, I'm not sure that the XERO team even gives a [insert your preferred word here].
Happy Friday!
-
Sherri Mackey commented
1%10 Net 30, 2% 10 Net 30 are normal discounts that would be helpful if auto-calculated vs manually adding on each bill.
-
daniel wollen commented
Please add a prompt payment discount facility , I need to have a discount of 10% if paid within 7 days of statement for a particular customer, that then disappeares after those 7 days is up.
-
Michael Pilkington commented
I want to offer a discount if someone pays by bank transfer rather than credit card as credit card fees are getting very expensive.
-
Lloyd Benson commented
This seems like a no brainer, fairly easy to develop and encourages best business practice. XERO let's get it done!
-
Nick Bennett commented
Ah, I've been ushered into this little corner of Xero that no one ever checks.
-
Diane van Rensburg commented
Setting up settlement discounts on Accounts Payables without having to create a credit note.
-
Gabi Fitzgerald commented
Seems like this was a waste of time logging in here if this has been 13 years
-
Riaan Badenhorst commented
Wow, 13 years already. Talking about slow
-
Tee Carter commented
Can't believe this still hasn't been implemented... Oh wait, that's right these Xero devs don't do anything.
-
Arthur Foote commented
We have several customer would like us to implement a 2% 10 net 30 payment policy. We have always been able to do this in other programs. Seems like a fairly common request.
-
Frazer Bird commented
This feature would be a great addition to Xero and a feature that everyone seems to be crying for!!
We have looked at Paidnice and while that would solve our concern, we cannot warrant the monthly fee as we do not invoice that frequently being a smaller business.
Our Xero subscriptions goes up constantly, yet no new features to prove its worth!
Please Xero, can we have this feature added. Surely you can see it’s a feature worthwhile - it’s been requested for 12 years!!!
-
Sandy Schaare commented
We are trying Paidnice. It gives us weekly updates. Group flexibility ie different channels for different customers...and does everything we needed to offer prompt payment solutions.
-
Peter Humphrey commented
Lol - it is clear that Xero ignores this chat.
The feature would be excellent. Maybe someone should start the chat on LinkedIn; it may garner some attention if we move the conversation there. Otherwise, the product overall is good.
It would be nice if they had a product team that engaged users from time to time. I don't think they have account managers to check in with customers. Sad, if I treated my customers like this, I would not have any!
I'll check back here in another 5 years!
-
Mark Kedian commented
Has this not been implemented yet?
We are just busy moving from Pastel to Xero. So far the support has been less than adequate. So much so that I am contemplating reversing my decision.
-
Sandy Schaare commented
Has this been solved?
-
Steven Porter commented
I'd like very much to trial early payment discounts with my clients, but despite using some pretty sophisticated accounting software - by the way, that's your product Xero - I can't add this simple thing to an invoice. Wow!
If this functionality hasn't been implemented in 12 years, there must be a reason.
-
Martin Danger commented
We have now reached 12 years!!!
From and including: Tuesday, 22 January 2013
To, but not including Wednesday, 29 January 2025
Result:
4390 days
12 years, 7 days excluding the end date.
144 months, 7 days excluding the end date. -
Brigid ONeill commented
Xero you are bleeding customers due to increased fees. That you aren’t prioritising upgrades that are standard features for your competitors is shocking. Provide a timetable for beta and full deployment schedule for each idea so that we can actually see it working its way through the apps dev pipeline!!!
-
Admin PTS commented
This is a critical feature. Adding it would save a lot of administration time, improve customer service and reduce lost income