Bank Reconciliation - Only autofill existing contacts when using Add details option
On the Reconcile screen, if you click the 'Add details' button for a transaction that doesn't have a suggested contact, Xero will autofill the 'To' field for the new transaction with the statement line Payee field. This is true whether or not that field matches an existing contact name and Xero doesn't indicate new contacts in any way.
I would like the option to restrict this autofill to only use existing contact names, or turn it off entirely. I have a lot of contacts where the Payee field is slightly different than the contact name in Xero and this autofill created a lot of duplicate contacts before I realized what was happening. Even now, I have to manually delete and re-enter the correct contact during reconciliation if Xero auto-fills the wrong name.
At minimum, the new transaction entry should have a label showing whether an auto-filled contact is new. This would help us avoid creating duplicate contact that have to be merged later on.
Thanks for submitting your idea on Xero Product Ideas. We appreciate you taking time to let us know how we could improve Xero for you.
Your feedback will soon be reviewed by our Community team, and in the meantime this can begin to build support with votes from other community members.
If you're interested to see recent releases or get a pulse on what's coming soon see The Long and Short of it. 🙂