Workpapers - Delete / Reset workpaper
it seems that it is not possible to delete or reset a workpaper. For example, I created a workpaper pack for a reacl client to test. I since updated the templates, and want to reset/delete/recreate the workpaper so its i the updated format. I've messaged Xero support and they have advised this isn't possible. This means I'm not stuck and cant use this workpaper for this client. They suggested I leave a comment here.
Hi Gareth, appreciate your feedback on new Xero Workpapers here. Atm, you can refresh the pack after making template changes for them to pull through.
It'd be good to get more understanding of the scenarios in which you'd like to delete packs - For example when or why you'd want to delete packs and the sort of users you'd want to allow to delete packs to help us better assess your idea here. Thanks!
-
Marissa Mestros
commented
People make mistakes and therefore deletion of incorrect workpaper packs is a pretty important feature to maintain the database of working files.
Examples of needing to delete packs include when files are opened for the incorrect client (multiple entities in the group with similar names/xero files, not all entities in the group requiring a workpaper pack, etc) as well as plenty of other small mistakes in the file's set up (due date, etc) means we need to be able to delete the workpaper pack and re-create it if required.
This should be a pretty standard feature... if you can create it, you should be able to also delete it.
-
Bianca Masciulli
commented
Where workpaper packs are created by staff for Xero files they only have limited access to, you need to be able to quickly delete the workpaper pack. There is now a workaround to limit staff access, but if this is missed and workpaper packs can be created, we need to be able to remove them quickly. Maybe this could be an admin only function?
-
Andy Chambers
commented
Hey Xero,
Just jumping in here. One of the main reasons was the issue with not being able to switch between cash or accrual once the WP's have been set up, but pretty sure that's been fixed now.
Otherwise we might have instances where we need a file fully locked down for security, i.e. a client related to a staffer. In the past, to be extra safe we delete the WP's so there isn't a chance for someone to view what they shouldn't.
Another one is where one of the team adds the incorrect financial year to the job WP's (set's up 2025 WP's when we're doing 2023 etc).
Happy for admin's only to be able to push delete's through.