Account Transactions Report - Hide Archived Accounts
The attached post indicates that Xero has delivered the ability to hide archived files by unticking the "Show Archived" box in the account transactions report and then saving it as a custom report. I have tried this, but it doesn't work. Every time I go into my custom report which should have the Show Archived box unticked it is always ticked and the archived accounts are showing. Could you please look at this again.
Hi team, returning to the idea here we appreciate the added feedback.
Checking in with our product team this is working as designed. At present as you've described the selection for 'Show archived' is automatically selected when running the Account Transactions report, and even if you save as custom this option will default to selected each time the report is run so you'll need to make sure to uncheck this if you don't want to see these accounts.
The default of this option is to ensure that all transactions are shown in the report for the period it's being run.
We appreciate expecting the selection to be saved with other custom settings and this is something the team will consider as they prioritise their roadmap, but I want to be transparent that this isn't planned at this time. If there are any changes planned I'll be sure to update you of this, here.
-
Cat Pietropaolo
commented
How arrogant... Users keep telling you what they need, and Xero support still decide to do otherwise. If you were really worried about reports not showing all the transactions, you would change other settings too. I think this is because you don't want to allocate any of your time to that and rather work on other things you think are more marketable, whether most of your users like it or not. Hopefully some better software will come along and draw the vast majority of your customers.
-
Cat Pietropaolo
commented
I agree with Murray Thompson and don't understand why developers still haven't changed at least the default ticked items. It doesn't look like they are testing features properly and they don't seem to be making the right decisions for users. Nobody would want archived accounts to be included by default, of course. Why would they have been archived in the first place? To be hidden!
-
Murray Thompson
commented
I agree - a better option is in the Account Transaction Report, to have the "Archived" option UNTICKED. If I want the archived accounts, I will click it.
With some entities with a LOT of old Archived Accounts, it does get annoying that you are sorting through the old archived accounts by default.
-
Mandy Sullivan
commented
I've put "z" at the beginning of the codes which at least moves them to the end of the list. You do need to restore, edit then re-archive, annoying, but a good enough work around for now.
-
Cat Pietropaolo
commented
I had raised the same issue (as I hadn't found this), and Xero Support merged it with another one that is quite different... Do they actually read our comments (and test the user interface in the first place)?
As other people said, of course it should be easier (and actually the default behaviour) to keep archived accounts hidden. We don't want to see them...
My comment was the following (it includes one more point):
Ability to properly HIDE locked archived accounts
It is annoying to keep seeing them in reports dropdowns if we are never going to use them. Plus, accounts that were archived by the system from the start cannot even be edited, so we're stuck with those codes and cannot even push the accounts to the bottom of the list, for example. Not good.
-
David Elliott
commented
The default should be not to show archive accounts because they are achived for a reason. Every time I run this report I have to un-select the box, which is just annoying.
-
Rebecca Schaab
commented
Further to this. Just wondering, instead of having the tick box option permanently set to "show archived" - if it could be permanently set to not being ticked, because we have to untick it every time we go to run the report. If we want to search by an account name then all the archived ones are included unless we untick it, which is painful.
It might be beneficial for the option to be the other way around? - In the off chance people want to see archived account transactions then they can choose this option instead of it being the standard option.
Thanks -
Jason Wood
commented
Same issue still haunts us